Rose Windows - The Sun Dogs

The notion that there is nothing new under the sun can be both a blessing and a curse to musicians. On the one hand, it absolves artists from any nagging sense that they have to reinvent the wheel with every new project. On the other, it makes innovation seem like a fool's errand. Seattle songwriter Chris Cheveyo embraces this blessing, but with his compatriots in Rose Windows, he also defies the curse. The band follows standard Western traditions in their instrumentation, using the basic tools employed in past decades of American and British rock music. Elements of The Band's folk-infused rock, The Doors organ-driven psychedelia, and Black Sabbath's blues-based dirges can be heard in Rose Window's debut album The Sun Dogs. But the septet's curiosity goes much further than a few well-chosen classic rock records. The band devoured Persian, Indian, and Eastern European music, studying the beautiful and strange paths taken by visionaries and renegades in other corners of the globe, and incorporated the revelations learned in the process into their sound. In doing so, The Sun Dogs challenges the assumption that all creative territories have been mapped out and charted. While Rose Windows aren't interested in making music of the future, one reviewer was wise enough to note "a sound like this would not be possible in any other time."

Track list:
1. Spirit Modules - 00:00
2. Native Dreams - 04:00
3. Heavenly Days - 10:18
4. Walkin' With a Woman - 13:55
5. Season of Serpents - 21:12
6. Wartime Lovers - 25:10
7. Indian Summer - 29:08
8. This Shroud - 33:22 
9. Coda - 43:05

Enjoy, and don't forget to support the artists!